Apparel supplier count by tier
Measurement answer
What this metric measures
Supplier organizations reported separately for direct suppliers and key upstream suppliers in the apparel production chain, with the observation date and any estimation uncertainty retained.
Specification
Metric specification
- Result format
- Structured table
- Unit
- Suppliers (organizations), by tier group
- Reporting basis
- Measurement-date stock with the date and any estimation state retained.
- Aggregation
- Do not collapse structured fields or ranks into a scalar; combine only compatible rows under an explicit identity, boundary, and duplicate-handling rule.
- Pillar
- Social
- Topic
- Apparel supply-chain scale
- Controlled domain
- Operating context and scale
- Entity type
- Metric
Reporting boundary
Supplier organizations are reported in the two source tier groups at a declared observation date. Sustopedia does not attribute a deduplication or cross-tier assignment rule to the source guidance; the reporter must state its own policy and any upstream estimation uncertainty.
Cross-library identity
Library mappings and variants
These links compare quantity, population, boundary, period, unit, denominator, aggregation, dimensions, and method edition. Partial relationships are navigation aids only and never authorize observation reuse.
- Related but distinct metricPartial relationship; observations remain separate.Suppliers assessed for environmental impacts
- Related but distinct metricPartial relationship; observations remain separate.Suppliers assessed for social impacts
Verified source occurrences
Framework coverage
This is one canonical metric. The bindings below show every verified framework occurrence without creating duplicate metric pages. Edition, disclosure, role, and relationship remain source-specific.
- Adopting DisclosureSource evidence
ISSB/SASB industry-based metrics
- Publisher
- IFRS Foundation / International Sustainability Standards Board
- Edition
- Primary guidance reviewed 2026-08-16
- Requirement
- Not Specified
- Relationship
- Defines Disclosure
- Mapping outcome
- Direct Evidence
- Source locator
- Apparel industry measurement topics and implementation guidance
- Adopting DisclosureCG-AA-000.A
ISSB/SASB industry-based metrics
- Publisher
- IFRS Foundation / International Sustainability Standards Board
- Edition
- 2024-11-07
- Requirement
- Not Specified
- Relationship
- Maps Source Identity
- Mapping outcome
- Published
- Source locator
- sasb:2024-11-07:CG-AA-000.A
Value structure
Dimensions and units
- Unit
- Suppliers (organizations), by tier group
- Reporting basis
- Measurement-date stock with the date and any estimation state retained.
Unit meaning: One unit is one supplier organization under the reporter-declared identity and tier policy; it is not a facility, audit, assessment, contract, or product.
Table fields and units
- supplier tier group.
- supplier identity.
- supplier geography.
- actual or estimated state.
- Reported value and value state
- Suppliers (organizations), by tier group
- Measurement-source edition
- Estimate and assurance status
Published dimensions
- supplier tier group.
- supplier identity.
- supplier geography.
- actual or estimated state.
Disclosure method
Formula information
- Status
- Not applicable
- Formula type
- Structured Disclosure
Disclosure form
No single formulaDirectly observe and report supplier counts separately by tier. The source does not prescribe a universal aggregation, deduplication, or tier-assignment equation.
Verified sources
Evidence and status sources
Sustopedia checked each record-specific claim directly against primary publisher material. Labels distinguish current measurement authority from future compatibility and corroborative, legal, edition, or method status context. Corroborative evidence can support a stated limitation but cannot establish the core measurement by itself.
Measurement evidence
- Measurement evidenceChecked 16 August 2026
Industry-based apparel, accessories and footwear reporting guidance
- Publisher
- IFRS Foundation / International Sustainability Standards Board
- Edition
- Primary guidance reviewed 2026-08-16
- Locator
- Apparel industry measurement topics and implementation guidance
Supports: Primary industry guidance informed the source census and boundary review; the metric wording, structure and formula explanation in this record are Sustopedia-authored.
Open official source
Use with context
Interpretation boundaries
Method disclosures required
Source-edition basis: Sustopedia apparel measurement method profile, version 1.0, reviewed 2026-08-16 against primary industry-based reporting guidance.
- supplier tier group.
- supplier identity.
- supplier geography.
- actual or estimated state.
- Observation date.
- Reporter-defined supplier identity and duplicate handling.
- Cross-tier assignment policy.
- Actual or estimated status for upstream supplier coverage.
- Reporting entity, reporting boundary, reporting period, source edition, estimation state, and assurance state.
- Numerator, denominator, zero-denominator state, and rounding method when a derived formula applies.
Record-specific limitations
- Do not substitute supplier-facility counts for supplier-organization counts.
- A supplier serving several tiers or legal entities needs an explicit deduplication and tier-assignment rule.
- Do not infer full upstream coverage when the beyond-direct-supplier population is estimated.
- Counts are not comparable when reporters use different legal-entity, group, facility, or tier-assignment conventions.
Interpret this metric with the stated reporting boundary, period convention, value shape, and unit. Results prepared with different boundaries or conventions may not be directly comparable.
Measurement evidence supports the core record-specific claims described above. Corroborative evidence can support limitations, while compatibility and status sources provide their separately labelled context. None of these cards by itself determines an organisation's legal applicability, filing readiness, assurance status, or compliance conclusion.