Search Sustopedia

MetricGovernance body composition and oversight

Board and committee member meeting attendance

Measurement answer

What this metric measures

Individual member attendance record for meetings of one named board or committee during the reporting period, retaining meetings held, member eligibility, appointment and departure windows, recusal, leave, partial attendance and source-reported rate or notation.

Specification

Metric specification

Result format
Structured table
Unit
Meetings attended; meetings eligible; attendance (%)
Reporting basis
Reporting period with appointment and departure windows retained
Aggregation
Keep board and committee rows separate; do not average attendance rates, and total counts only for disjoint meeting identities under compatible eligibility rules.
Pillar
Governance
Topic
Governance body composition and oversight
Controlled domain
Governance and business conduct
Entity type
Metric

Reporting boundary

Meetings outside a member’s service window and formally recused meetings receive no assumed denominator treatment. Partial attendance, leave, virtual meetings, proxies and observers follow the declared source rule.

Verified source occurrences

Framework coverage

This is one canonical metric. The bindings below show every verified framework occurrence without creating duplicate metric pages. Edition, disclosure, role, and relationship remain source-specific.

  • Adopting Disclosure

    OECD guidance

    Source evidence
    Publisher
    Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
    Edition
    2023 edition
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Defines Disclosure
    Mapping outcome
    Direct Evidence
    Source locator
    Board composition and remuneration PDF pp31-32; independence criteria p42; individual attendance p43
    Open official framework source
  • Adopting Disclosure

    UK reporting and governance rules

    Source evidence
    Publisher
    Financial Reporting Council
    Edition
    2024 Code, effective for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2025
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Defines Disclosure
    Mapping outcome
    Direct Evidence
    Source locator
    Independence Provisions 10-11 PDF pp9-10; meeting and individual-attendance Provision 14 p10
    Open official framework source

Value structure

Dimensions and units

Unit
Meetings attended; meetings eligible; attendance (%)
Reporting basis
Reporting period with appointment and departure windows retained

Unit meaning: Each row reports meeting counts for one member and named body; any percentage uses the source-declared eligible-meeting denominator rather than total meetings held by default.

Table fields and units

  • reporting entity
  • named board or committee
  • member or membership identifier and role
  • reporting period
  • meetings held
  • Reported value
  • Meetings attended; meetings eligible; attendance (%)
  • Measurement-source edition
  • Assurance status

Published dimensions

  • Reporting entity.
  • Named board or committee.
  • Member or membership identifier and role.
  • Reporting period.
  • Meetings held.
  • Meetings eligible and meetings attended.
  • Appointment and departure dates.
  • Recusal, leave and conflict treatment.
  • Partial-attendance threshold.
  • Virtual or written meeting treatment.
  • Proxy and observer status.
  • Source-reported notation or percentage.
  • Missing and not-applicable state.
  • Source edition and assurance state.

Calculation method

Formula information

Status
Specified
Formula type
Percentage

Formula

P = (N ÷ D) × 100

Use the source-defined numerator and denominator for the same population, period, boundary, and method; do not infer an unstated denominator.

Variables

SymbolVariableDefinitionUnit
Nqualifying numeratorQualifying observations within the qualifying population and boundary defined for Board and committee member meeting attendance.Dimensionless
Ddeclared denominatorComplete compatible denominator for the qualifying population and boundary defined for Board and committee member meeting attendance.Dimensionless

Verified sources

Evidence and status sources

Sustopedia checked each record-specific claim directly against primary publisher material. Labels distinguish current measurement authority from future compatibility and corroborative, legal, edition, or method status context. Corroborative evidence can support a stated limitation but cannot establish the core measurement by itself.

Measurement evidence

  • Measurement evidenceChecked 15 August 2026

    UK Corporate Governance Code 2024

    Publisher
    Financial Reporting Council
    Edition
    2024 Code, effective for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2025
    Locator
    Independence Provisions 10-11 PDF pp9-10; meeting and individual-attendance Provision 14 p10

    Supports: Supports the measurement definition, boundary, and source-reported fields for Board and committee member meeting attendance.

    Open official source
  • Measurement evidenceChecked 15 August 2026

    G20/OECD Principles of Corporate Governance 2023

    Publisher
    Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
    Edition
    2023 edition
    Locator
    Board composition and remuneration PDF pp31-32; independence criteria p42; individual attendance p43

    Supports: Supports the measurement definition, boundary, and source-reported fields for Board and committee member meeting attendance.

    Open official source

Use with context

Interpretation boundaries

Method disclosures required

Source-edition basis: UK Corporate Governance Code 2024 — 2024 Code, effective for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2025; G20/OECD Principles of Corporate Governance 2023 — 2023 edition. Retain the exact source edition on every observation; later editions require a separate method profile.

  • Reporting entity.
  • Named board or committee.
  • Member or membership identifier and role.
  • Reporting period.
  • Meetings held.
  • Meetings eligible and meetings attended.
  • Appointment and departure dates.
  • Recusal, leave and conflict treatment.
  • Retain the exact measurement-source edition with every observation.
  • Each row reports meeting counts for one member and named body; any percentage uses the source-declared eligible-meeting denominator rather than total meetings held by default.

Record-specific limitations

  • Attendance measures presence under a declared rule, not preparation, participation, contribution, challenge, decision quality or board effectiveness.
  • Jurisdictional code scope and comply-or-explain status affect comparability.

Interpret this metric with the stated reporting boundary, period convention, value shape, and unit. Results prepared with different boundaries or conventions may not be directly comparable.

Measurement evidence supports the core record-specific claims described above. Corroborative evidence can support limitations, while compatibility and status sources provide their separately labelled context. None of these cards by itself determines an organisation's legal applicability, filing readiness, assurance status, or compliance conclusion.