Search Sustopedia

MetricOperating context and scale

E-commerce computing capacity and external-operation share

Measurement answer

What this metric measures

Pairs total processing capacity with the percentage operated by external infrastructure providers on the same basis. The record applies to e-commerce and keeps its categories, units, period and boundary together.

Specification

Metric specification

Result format
Multi-field profile
Unit
Structured table — field-level units
Reporting basis
Use the reporting period declared for the result; point-in-time fields use the stated measurement date.
Aggregation
Apply the stated formula within each declared category, then aggregate only compatible results with matching populations, periods, boundaries, units and methods.
Pillar
Cross-cutting
Topic
Operating context and scale
Controlled domain
Operating context and scale
Entity type
Metric

Reporting boundary

Use the reporter-declared organizational and operational boundary for e-commerce, including exclusions, estimates and value-chain scope where relevant.

Verified source occurrences

Framework coverage

This is one canonical metric. The bindings below show every verified framework occurrence without creating duplicate metric pages. Edition, disclosure, role, and relationship remain source-specific.

  • Adopting Disclosure

    ISSB/SASB industry-based metrics

    Source evidence
    Publisher
    IFRS Foundation / International Sustainability Standards Board
    Edition
    Final taxonomy package published 7 November 2024
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Defines Disclosure
    Mapping outcome
    Direct Evidence
    Source locator
    Record-level correspondence is retained in Sustopedia’s internal source map
    Open official framework source
  • Adopting Disclosure

    ISSB/SASB industry-based metrics

    CG-EC-000.B
    Publisher
    IFRS Foundation / International Sustainability Standards Board
    Edition
    2024-11-07
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Maps Source Identity
    Mapping outcome
    Published
    Source locator
    sasb:2024-11-07:CG-EC-000.B
    Open official framework source

Value structure

Dimensions and units

Unit
Structured table — field-level units
Reporting basis
Use the reporting period declared for the result; point-in-time fields use the stated measurement date.

Unit meaning: Each table field uses its stated unit. Capacity uses the declared operating basis; external operation uses percent.

Table fields and units

  • Declared computing capacity (computing capacity; reporter-declared unit and scale)
  • Externally operated capacity share (%; percentage)

Published dimensions

  • Reporting period or measurement date
  • E-commerce reporting boundary
  • Geography or business segment where material
  • Measurement method and estimation status

Calculation method

Formula information

Status
Specified
Formula type
Percentage

Formula

P_external = (C_external ÷ C_total) × 100

Capacity is a direct observation. Calculate the external share only from external and total capacity measured on the same basis and boundary.

Variables

SymbolVariableDefinitionUnit
C_externalExternally operated capacityFormula input representing externally operated capacity.Dimensionless
C_totalTotal capacity on the same basisFormula input representing total capacity on the same basis.Dimensionless

Verified sources

Evidence and status sources

Sustopedia checked each record-specific claim directly against primary publisher material. Labels distinguish current measurement authority from future compatibility and corroborative, legal, edition, or method status context. Corroborative evidence can support a stated limitation but cannot establish the core measurement by itself.

Measurement evidence

  • Measurement evidenceChecked 16 August 2026

    Industry-based sustainability disclosure taxonomy

    Publisher
    IFRS Foundation / International Sustainability Standards Board
    Edition
    Final taxonomy package published 7 November 2024
    Locator
    Record-level correspondence is retained in Sustopedia’s internal source map

    Supports: The official package establishes the reportable concept and hierarchy position; the public identity, field descriptions and method framing are Sustopedia-authored.

    Open official source

Use with context

Interpretation boundaries

Method disclosures required

Source-edition basis: Sustopedia industry-based measurement profile, 2024 taxonomy-aligned edition (7 November 2024).

  • Values for every applicable field: Declared computing capacity; Externally operated capacity share.
  • Field-level unit, scale, currency or response type where applicable.
  • Reporting period or measurement date.
  • Organizational, operational and value-chain boundary, including exclusions.
  • Estimation, restatement, conversion and method-edition notes.

Record-specific limitations

  • Comparisons require compatible populations, periods, boundaries, units, category definitions and measurement methods.
  • Capacity uses the declared operating basis; external operation uses percent.
  • The formula is valid only for the stated population, unit basis and category boundary.

Interpret this metric with the stated reporting boundary, period convention, value shape, and unit. Results prepared with different boundaries or conventions may not be directly comparable.

Measurement evidence supports the core record-specific claims described above. Corroborative evidence can support limitations, while compatibility and status sources provide their separately labelled context. None of these cards by itself determines an organisation's legal applicability, filing readiness, assurance status, or compliance conclusion.