Search Sustopedia

MetricFinanced emissions and portfolio climate accounting

Excluded undrawn loan-commitment share

Measurement answer

What this metric measures

Excluded undrawn loan-commitment share is the percentage of total undrawn commitments omitted from the disclosed emissions boundary for the same portfolio and measurement date.

Specification

Metric specification

Result format
Single value
Unit
Percent of total undrawn loan commitments (%)
Reporting basis
Reporting period with a declared commitment measurement date
Aggregation
Divide compatible excluded and total undrawn-commitment amounts for the same portfolio, date, currency and gross-exposure basis
Pillar
Environmental
Topic
Financed emissions and portfolio climate accounting
Controlled domain
Sustainable finance
Entity type
Metric

Reporting boundary

Undrawn loan commitments in the disclosed portfolio at one measurement date. The numerator contains only exclusions from that same denominator population and retains their stated rationale.

Verified source occurrences

Framework coverage

This is one canonical metric. The bindings below show every verified framework occurrence without creating duplicate metric pages. Edition, disclosure, role, and relationship remain source-specific.

  • Adopting Disclosure

    PCAF Standards

    9b49ee985ba386511a71
    Publisher
    Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials
    Edition
    Third Edition, December 2025
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Maps Source Identity
    Mapping outcome
    Published
    Source locator
    page 173, “General characteristics of undrawn loan calculations—Asset classes in scope”
    Open official framework source
  • Adopting Disclosure

    PCAF Standards

    9cab486a-dc2b-4025-a57c-96bd490debb3
    Publisher
    Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials
    Edition
    Third Edition, December 2025
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Reuses Canonical Metric
    Mapping outcome
    Reused
    Source locator
    page 173, “General characteristics of undrawn loan calculations—Asset classes in scope”
    Open official framework source
  • Measurement Authority

    PCAF Standards

    Source evidence
    Publisher
    Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials
    Edition
    Third Edition, December 2025
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Defines Measurement
    Mapping outcome
    Direct Evidence
    Source locator
    Section 6.2, general characteristics of undrawn-loan calculations, printed page 173, asset-classes-in-scope exclusion disclosure
    Open official framework source

Value structure

Dimensions and units

Unit
Percent of total undrawn loan commitments (%)
Reporting basis
Reporting period with a declared commitment measurement date

Unit meaning: Excluded undrawn commitment amount divided by total undrawn loan commitments for the same portfolio and date, multiplied by 100.

Published dimensions

  • Portfolio and asset class
  • Excluded product or case category
  • Measurement date
  • Currency, scale and gross-exposure basis

Calculation method

Formula information

Status
Specified
Formula type
Percentage

Formula

S = (E ÷ U) × 100

Divide the excluded undrawn-commitment amount by total undrawn loan commitments for the same portfolio, date, currency and exposure basis, then multiply by 100.

Variables

SymbolVariableDefinitionUnit
Eexcluded undrawn commitment amountUndrawn commitment amount excluded from the disclosed emissions boundary.named reporting currency
Utotal undrawn loan commitmentsTotal compatible undrawn loan commitments before the stated exclusions.named reporting currency

Verified sources

Evidence and status sources

Sustopedia checked each record-specific claim directly against primary publisher material. Labels distinguish current measurement authority from future compatibility and corroborative, legal, edition, or method status context. Corroborative evidence can support a stated limitation but cannot establish the core measurement by itself.

Measurement evidence

  • Measurement evidenceChecked 25 August 2026

    The Global GHG Accounting and Reporting Standard Part A: Financed Emissions

    Publisher
    Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials
    Edition
    Third Edition, December 2025
    Locator
    Section 6.2, general characteristics of undrawn-loan calculations, printed page 173, asset-classes-in-scope exclusion disclosure

    Supports: The official PCAF source establishes the reporting identity and source-edition boundary for “Excluded undrawn loan-commitment share”; apply it with the method disclosures and limitations stated here.

    Open official source

Use with context

Interpretation boundaries

Method disclosures required

Source-edition basis: PCAF Part A, Third Edition, December 2025.

  • Excluded undrawn-commitment amount and exclusion rationale
  • Total undrawn-commitment denominator
  • Portfolio, asset class, measurement date, currency and scale
  • Definition of undrawn commitments and gross-exposure basis

Record-specific limitations

  • Different definitions of undrawn commitments reduce comparability across financial institutions.
  • An excluded share does not indicate emissions magnitude or materiality.
  • Numerator and denominator must use the same date, currency, scale and portfolio boundary.

Interpret this metric with the stated reporting boundary, period convention, value shape, and unit. Results prepared with different boundaries or conventions may not be directly comparable.

Measurement evidence supports the core record-specific claims described above. Corroborative evidence can support limitations, while compatibility and status sources provide their separately labelled context. None of these cards by itself determines an organisation's legal applicability, filing readiness, assurance status, or compliance conclusion.