Search Sustopedia

MetricGovernance body composition and oversight

Highest-governance-body member tenure profile

Measurement answer

What this metric measures

Member-level service and tenure record for the named highest governance body at a declared reference date, preserving appointment, current-term, interruption, reappointment and person-versus-seat rules instead of publishing an unsupported generic average.

Specification

Metric specification

Result format
Multi-field profile
Unit
Tenure duration (years and months)
Reporting basis
Declared reference date
Aggregation
Member durations are non-additive; do not total or average incomplete, overlapping or mixed-clock records.
Pillar
Governance
Topic
Governance body composition and oversight
Controlled domain
Governance and business conduct
Entity type
Metric

Reporting boundary

First appointment, continuous service, cumulative service and current term are separate clocks. Simultaneous board and committee memberships do not create multiple years of personal service in a person-level view.

Cross-library identity

Library mappings and variants

These links compare quantity, population, boundary, period, unit, denominator, aggregation, dimensions, and method edition. Partial relationships are navigation aids only and never authorize observation reuse.

Verified source occurrences

Framework coverage

This is one canonical metric. The bindings below show every verified framework occurrence without creating duplicate metric pages. Edition, disclosure, role, and relationship remain source-specific.

  • Adopting Disclosure

    GRI Standards

    Source evidence
    Publisher
    Global Reporting Initiative
    Edition
    2021 edition, effective for reports published from 1 January 2023
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Defines Disclosure
    Mapping outcome
    Direct Evidence
    Source locator
    Disclosure 2-9 PDF p20; Disclosure 2-16 p27; Disclosure 2-19 p30
    Open official framework source
  • Adopting Disclosure

    GRI Standards

    GRI 2-9
    Publisher
    Global Reporting Initiative
    Edition
    Files published 19 June 2025; entry point dated 23 June 2025
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Method Variant
    Mapping outcome
    Cross Library Link
    Source locator
    GRI 2-9, paragraph c; taxonomy entry point dated 23 June 2025
    Open official framework source
  • Adopting Disclosure

    UK reporting and governance rules

    Source evidence
    Publisher
    Financial Reporting Council
    Edition
    2024 Code, effective for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2025
    Requirement
    Not Specified
    Relationship
    Defines Disclosure
    Mapping outcome
    Direct Evidence
    Source locator
    Independence Provisions 10-11 PDF pp9-10; meeting and individual-attendance Provision 14 p10
    Open official framework source

Value structure

Dimensions and units

Unit
Tenure duration (years and months)
Reporting basis
Declared reference date

Unit meaning: A source-reported tenure duration retains its start event, reference date, elapsed-time convention, service segments, interruption treatment and person-or-membership basis.

Table fields and units

  • reporting entity
  • highest governance body and system
  • member identifier or required pseudonym
  • person or membership unit
  • seat or role and executive status
  • Reported value
  • Tenure duration (years and months)
  • Measurement-source edition
  • Assurance status

Published dimensions

  • Reporting entity.
  • Highest governance body and system.
  • Member identifier or required pseudonym.
  • Person or membership unit.
  • Seat or role and executive status.
  • First appointment and current-term start.
  • Prior service segments.
  • Interruption and reappointment treatment.
  • Tenure start rule and reference date.
  • Elapsed-time convention and source-reported duration.
  • Current or former status and vacancy state.
  • Jurisdiction, source edition and assurance state.

Disclosure method

Formula information

Status
Not applicable
Formula type
Structured Disclosure

Disclosure form

No single formula

Populate the structured fields from qualifying source observations and retain each field-level unit, boundary, status, and method; do not collapse the disclosure into one calculated value.

Verified sources

Evidence and status sources

Sustopedia checked each record-specific claim directly against primary publisher material. Labels distinguish current measurement authority from future compatibility and corroborative, legal, edition, or method status context. Corroborative evidence can support a stated limitation but cannot establish the core measurement by itself.

Measurement evidence

  • Measurement evidenceChecked 15 August 2026

    GRI 2: General Disclosures 2021

    Publisher
    Global Reporting Initiative
    Edition
    2021 edition, effective for reports published from 1 January 2023
    Locator
    Disclosure 2-9 PDF p20; Disclosure 2-16 p27; Disclosure 2-19 p30

    Supports: Supports the measurement definition, boundary, and source-reported fields for Highest-governance-body member tenure profile.

    Open official source
  • Measurement evidenceChecked 15 August 2026

    UK Corporate Governance Code 2024

    Publisher
    Financial Reporting Council
    Edition
    2024 Code, effective for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2025
    Locator
    Independence Provisions 10-11 PDF pp9-10; meeting and individual-attendance Provision 14 p10

    Supports: Supports the measurement definition, boundary, and source-reported fields for Highest-governance-body member tenure profile.

    Open official source

Use with context

Interpretation boundaries

Method disclosures required

Source-edition basis: GRI 2: General Disclosures 2021 — 2021 edition, effective for reports published from 1 January 2023; UK Corporate Governance Code 2024 — 2024 Code, effective for accounting periods beginning on or after 1 January 2025. Retain the exact source edition on every observation; later editions require a separate method profile.

  • Reporting entity.
  • Highest governance body and system.
  • Member identifier or required pseudonym.
  • Person or membership unit.
  • Seat or role and executive status.
  • First appointment and current-term start.
  • Prior service segments.
  • Interruption and reappointment treatment.
  • Retain the exact measurement-source edition with every observation.
  • A source-reported tenure duration retains its start event, reference date, elapsed-time convention, service segments, interruption treatment and person-or-membership basis.

Record-specific limitations

  • Tenure is not experience, independence, performance, contribution or entrenchment.
  • Appointment, interruption and reappointment rules vary.
  • The sources do not define a universal arithmetic average.

Interpret this metric with the stated reporting boundary, period convention, value shape, and unit. Results prepared with different boundaries or conventions may not be directly comparable.

Measurement evidence supports the core record-specific claims described above. Corroborative evidence can support limitations, while compatibility and status sources provide their separately labelled context. None of these cards by itself determines an organisation's legal applicability, filing readiness, assurance status, or compliance conclusion.