Products under life cycle assessment
Measurement answer
What this metric measures
Percentage of products undergoing a full or simplified life cycle assessment across upstream, direct operations, downstream and end-of-life stages.
Specification
Metric specification
- Result format
- Single value
- Unit
- percent — source-defined reporting unit
- Reporting basis
- Reporting period; not further specified in the source extract
- Aggregation
- Percentage of products undergoing a full or simplified life cycle assessment
- Pillar
- Environmental
- Topic
- Dependency, impact, risk and opportunity management: Changes to nature (dependency and impact): mitigation hierarchy steps
- Controlled domain
- Products and life-cycle assessment
- Entity type
- Metric
Reporting boundary
Products across upstream, direct operations, downstream and end-of-life stages
Verified source occurrences
Framework coverage
This is one canonical metric. The bindings below show every verified framework occurrence without creating duplicate metric pages. Edition, disclosure, role, and relationship remain source-specific.
- Adopting DisclosureSource evidence
TNFD sector guidance
- Publisher
- Taskforce on Nature-related Financial Disclosures
- Edition
- Final English sector guidance collection through August 2026 (17 documents)
- Requirement
- Not Specified
- Relationship
- Defines Disclosure
- Mapping outcome
- Direct Evidence
- Source locator
- Additional sector guidance – Biotechnology and pharmaceuticals, Version 1.0 (June 2024), p. 56, Table 15: Additional sector disclosure indicators and metrics. | Source specification: “Report the percentage of products that undergo either a full or simplified Life Cycle Assessment (LCA), covering upstream, direct operations, downstream, and end-of-life stages.” | Page 56, Table 15: Additional sector disclosure indicators and metrics
- Adopting DisclosureC.A23.1
TNFD sector guidance
- Publisher
- Taskforce on Nature-related Financial Disclosures
- Edition
- Version 1.0, June 2024
- Requirement
- Recommended
- Relationship
- Maps Source Identity
- Mapping outcome
- Published
- Source locator
- Page 56, Table 15: Additional sector disclosure indicators and metrics
Value structure
Dimensions and units
- Unit
- percent — source-defined reporting unit
- Reporting basis
- Reporting period; not further specified in the source extract
Unit meaning: Values use percent under the disclosed TNFD sector-guidance method, reporting period and boundary.
Published dimensions
- Product
- Life cycle assessment type: full or simplified
- Life-cycle stage coverage
Calculation method
Formula information
- Status
- Specified
- Formula type
- Percentage
Formula
(Products undergoing a full or simplified life cycle assessment / Total products in the defined product population) × 100Apply the source-defined TNFD sector-guidance method within the stated reporting boundary. This is a reportable LCA-coverage percentage. It is retained separately from the revenue-weighted variant because this source extract specifies a percentage of products but does not specify revenue as the denominator. No shortlisted existing metric matches this construct and boundary.
Variables
| Symbol | Variable | Definition | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
N_LCA | Products under life cycle assessment | Number of products undergoing a full or simplified life cycle assessment. | products |
N_total | Total products | Total number of products in the defined product population. | products |
Verified sources
Evidence and status sources
Sustopedia checked each record-specific claim directly against primary publisher material. Labels distinguish current measurement authority from future compatibility and corroborative, legal, edition, or method status context. Corroborative evidence can support a stated limitation but cannot establish the core measurement by itself.
Measurement evidence
- Measurement evidenceChecked 30 August 2026
TNFD additional sector guidance collection
- Publisher
- Taskforce on Nature-related Financial Disclosures
- Edition
- Final English sector guidance collection through August 2026 (17 documents)
- Locator
- Additional sector guidance – Biotechnology and pharmaceuticals, Version 1.0 (June 2024), p. 56, Table 15: Additional sector disclosure indicators and metrics. | Source specification: “Report the percentage of products that undergo either a full or simplified Life Cycle Assessment (LCA), covering upstream, direct operations, downstream, and end-of-life stages.” | Page 56, Table 15: Additional sector disclosure indicators and metrics
Supports: The official TNFD sector guidance supports the identity, boundary and method basis of “Products under life cycle assessment”.
Open official source
Use with context
Interpretation boundaries
Method disclosures required
Source-edition basis: TNFD sector guidance, Final English sector guidance collection through August 2026 (17 documents).
- Define the product population and denominator basis used for the percentage.
- Disclose the criteria for classifying an assessment as full or simplified.
- Disclose how upstream, direct operations, downstream and end-of-life stages are covered in the assessment approach.
Record-specific limitations
- The source extract does not specify the denominator basis for the percentage, including whether products are count-, volume-, or revenue-weighted.
- The source extract does not define the criteria distinguishing a full from a simplified life cycle assessment.
Interpret this metric with the stated reporting boundary, period convention, value shape, and unit. Results prepared with different boundaries or conventions may not be directly comparable.
Measurement evidence supports the core record-specific claims described above. Corroborative evidence can support limitations, while compatibility and status sources provide their separately labelled context. None of these cards by itself determines an organisation's legal applicability, filing readiness, assurance status, or compliance conclusion.